This Is How Many Voting Records Were Found On The Dark Web

Protecting the Nation’s Critical Infrastructure is the theme this week for Cyber Security Awareness Month. And with the US Midterms only weeks away cybercrime researchers at Anomali Labs and Intel 471 found 35 million voting records for sale on the Dark Web. Keep reading to find out which states were affected.

That’s right, the Dark Web is not the place for voting records. The records contain names, addresses, phone numbers, and previous voting records. They come from the following 19 states with 3 states (Texas, Wisconsin, Louisiana) totaling over 23 million of the records for sale:

  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • New Mexico
  • Oregon
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

McAfee Total Protection antivirus helps you decide if web pages and emails are legitimate or not and blocks viruses from getting on to your computer. And because you read our blog you get a discount – try it for over 50% off here.

So how did these records end up on the Dark Web? 

Just because voting records ended up on the Dark Web doesn’t mean state databases were breached. The registration data was probably stolen from resellers using it for ads according to the New York Times. Anomali and Intel 471 think this was a targeted attack, not a technological flaw.

With the US midterms looming, the most obvious fear is that someone would buy the voter lists and tamper with key personal information rendering people ineligible to vote. You might want to vote early to make sure your information is correct.

Like when any personal data gets released, there’s risk of identity fraud. Don’t respond to requests for personal information or click on links from unknown senders. Update your software often and keep an eye on banking information.

Subscribe to FixMeStick newsletter here to keep on top of the latest threats. Have questions? Don’t hesitate to comment below.